Chart: Keycap Profile Heights in mm, Cherry to SA
A keycap profile height chart with published millimeter values, source labels, measurement limits, and notes on comparing rows without false precision.
This keycap profile height chart records published millimeter values and the limits of those values. It is a lookup reference. For profile shapes, typing preferences, and the differences between individual families, use keycap profiles explained.
A profile name is not a complete dimensional drawing. The source must identify the measured row and reference points before a height can be used to predict clearance on a particular keyboard.
Published keycap heights in millimeters
The Das Keyboard figures below are values from its profile overview. That article does not supply a measurement protocol identifying the exact edge and row for each number. They are therefore labeled overview values, not certified maximums or interchangeable manufacturing dimensions.
| Profile | Published height | Source | Measurement qualification |
|---|---|---|---|
| SA | 16.5 mm | Das Keyboard profile overview | Row and measurement endpoints not specified in prose |
| KAT | 13.5 mm | Das Keyboard profile overview | Row and measurement endpoints not specified in prose |
| OEM | 11.9 mm | Das Keyboard profile overview | Row and measurement endpoints not specified in prose |
| MOA | 9.8 mm | Akko MOA guide | Akko describes the same height for each row |
| Cherry | 9.4 mm | Das Keyboard profile overview | Row and measurement endpoints not specified in prose |
| XDA | 9.1 mm | Das Keyboard profile overview | Uniform-family overview value |
| DSA | 7.6 mm | Das Keyboard profile overview | Uniform-family overview value |
| G20 | 7.6 mm | Das Keyboard profile overview | Uniform-family overview value |
The source names in the table correspond to the frontmatter references. No interpolation or measurements by this desk have been added. Akko’s MOA figure describes its own profile; it should not be extended to another maker’s similarly named product without checking that product’s documentation.
Entries without a comparable single figure
Leaving a cell unfilled is preferable to inventing a number from a picture. These families appeared in the broader comparison, but the cited references do not provide one directly comparable numerical value in prose.
| Profile | What the cited reference provides | Why no single mm value appears here |
|---|---|---|
| DCS | Signature Plastics family description and linked dimensional drawing | A sculpted family needs a specified row and endpoints |
| MT3 | Das Keyboard gives a qualitative comparison with SA | Similarity is not a numerical specification |
| KAM | Das Keyboard identifies its uniform arrangement | No numerical height is supplied there |
For DCS and the other Signature Plastics families, follow the drawings linked from its family-specification page when a specific part dimension is needed. Keep the drawing’s row and part identification alongside the number you copy.
Measurement reference checklist
Before comparing a figure from this chart with a vendor drawing, record the following fields. A missing field means the values may still be useful for broad orientation, but they are not a matched dimensional comparison.
| Field | Record this | Reason |
|---|---|---|
| Manufacturer and set | Exact product or drawing identifier | A shared profile name need not identify a shared mold |
| Physical row | Number row, home row, or another named position | Sculpted rows can differ |
| Vertical endpoints | The lower reference plane and the upper contact point | Edge height and dish height are different measurements |
| Part state | Loose keycap or mounted assembly | Installed height also depends on the switch and board |
| Units | Millimeters or the drawing’s stated units | Unit conversion cannot fix mismatched endpoints |
Do not silently turn a loose keycap height into a height above the keyboard plate. That calculation would require the mounting geometry as well. Likewise, a profile overview cannot supply the clearance between a cap’s internal wall and a particular switch housing.
Comparing two chart entries
Using only the published overview values, OEM minus Cherry is 11.9 minus 9.4, or 2.5 mm. This is arithmetic on those listed values. It does not establish a 2.5 mm difference between every pair of OEM and Cherry home-row keys.
Apply the same discipline when creating a personal spreadsheet: retain the source and qualification columns rather than copying only the numbers. Mark an unknown value as unknown. A blank field is easier to correct later than a guessed dimension that has become a purchasing assumption.
If two vendors disagree, inspect their drawings before averaging. Averaging a front-edge measurement and a rear-edge measurement produces a number neither manufacturer specified.
Row and kit references
Row labels belong to a manufacturer’s diagram. A label such as R1 does not, by itself, prove which physical row another vendor means. The row explanation now lives in the profile guide, alongside the sculpted-versus-uniform distinction.
Height also does not establish width or quantity. Use keycap kitting and coverage to match the keys supplied in a set, and the compatibility guide to check the mount and layout. Keep those checks separate from this dimensional lookup.
Sources
KeycapCompare — in your inbox
Every profile, material, and colorway — explained — delivered when there's something worth your inbox.
No spam. Unsubscribe anytime.
Related
Cherry vs OEM Profile: How to Pick the Right Keycaps
Cherry vs OEM keycap profiles are compared by height, top shape, sound, feel, and selection, with practical guidance for choosing between them.
SA Profile Deep-Dive: The Tall, Sculpted, Polarizing Classic
A deep-dive on SA keycaps, the tall sculpted spherical profile: row structure, the typing-posture learning curve, sound character, and who SA suits.
Keycap Profiles Explained: Shapes, Rows, and Typing
Compare keycap profiles by sculpt, top shape, and typing preferences, with Cherry, OEM, SA, MT3, KAT, DSA, XDA, and kit coverage explained.